Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Eloge de l'Art par Alain Truong
29 juin 2009

Yan Pei-Ming (B. 1960), Timonier 009, 1998

b

Yan Pei-Ming (B. 1960), Timonier 009, 1998

Oil on canvas.  130 x 97 cm. (51 1/8 x 38 1/8 in).  Signed, titled and dated ‘"Timonier 009" 98 Yan Pei-Ming [in Chinese and Pinyin]' on the reverse. Est. £150,000-200,000

PROVENANCE Galerie Liliane et Michel Durand-Dessert, Paris; Private collection, Paris

NOTE "When I was little in Shanghai I started drawing Mao, when I arrived in France I painted him too, I started painting him formally in 1987. In 1991 I had my first solo exhibition, at the time all the paintings were giant portraits of Mao, I titled the show myself, "Through his history my stories just started"... Mao is an icon, he is also a part of history of China, I myself don't have any history, they don't know who I am...After seeing Mao, I understand the idea of being Chinese; I understand the place where I come from, this was what I was thinking then". (Yan Pei-Ming in conversation withY.You,Fearless: In Conversation with the artist, 24 February, 2006,www.arts.tom.com)

Philips de Pury & Company. Contempory Art Evenig Sale. Juen 29 2009 London. www.phillipsdepury.com 

Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Archives
Derniers commentaires
Eloge de l'Art par Alain Truong
Publicité